San Jose, CA: backyard pod and shed permit line
San Jose's page puts the whole test in one sentence: 120 sq ft or less, and no electricity or plumbing. Zoning and rear yard coverage rules still apply on top of that.
“120 sq. ft. or less, no permit is required unless it includes electricity or plumbing”
From City of San Jose Development Services Permit Center, read Nov 5, 2026.
The conditions, one by one
| Size line | 120 sq ft or less |
|---|---|
| Measured as | area (basis not stated) |
| Height | not stated on the page |
| Power | No permit “unless it includes electricity or plumbing”. |
| Use | Not stated on the page. |
Also on the page
- Zoning standards and rear yard coverage rules still apply (Municipal Code 20.30.500 and 20.200.020)
Pod sizes against this line
13 of 36 pod sizes are inside the 120 sq ft line by floor area. 23 are over.
- Autonomous MetroPod: 80 sq ft
- Autonomous WorkPod: 102 sq ft
- Autonomous StudioPod: 105 sq ft
- Studio Home Signature 8 x 10 ft: 80 sq ft
- Studio Home Signature 8 x 12 ft: 96 sq ft
- Studio Home Signature 8 x 14 ft: 112 sq ft
- Studio Home Signature 10 x 10 ft: 100 sq ft
- Studio Home Signature 10 x 12 ft: 120 sq ft
- Studio Home Portland 8 x 12 ft: 96 sq ft
- Studio Home Portland 8 x 14 ft: 112 sq ft
- Studio Home Portland 10 x 12 ft: 120 sq ft
- Kanga Room Systems Modern Kwik Room 10 x 12 ft: 120 sq ft
- Kanga Room Systems Cottage Kwik Room 10 x 12 ft: 120 sq ft
3 of those ship pre-wired (Autonomous). The rule names power, so the wiring condition applies to them even though the size fits.
Second check
permitmint.com San Jose shed page lists 120 sq ft (agrees).
This page repeats the published rule and does the arithmetic on published sizes. Zoning, HOA rules and setbacks can still block a building the permit rule allows. Ask the office above before you order.