Will your backyard pod clear the permit line?
Pick a place and a pod. The checker puts the pod's floor area next to that place's published exemption rule, then lists the conditions that usually trip pods up: wiring, office use and height. 15 places, 36 pod sizes from 3 makers, all read Nov 5, 2026.
City or county building rule. Your exact address may fall under a different office.
The pattern across all 15 places
9 of the 15 rules stop at 120 sq ft. 5 stop at 200 sq ft. Raleigh has no size exemption at all. The model building code most states start from, IRC R105.2, uses 200 sq ft (as quoted by Federal Way, WA), and California places in this set use 120.
Size is the easy part. Most of these exemptions are written for tool sheds and playhouses, and several say so in the text. Pods are sold as offices with outlets and lights already in the walls. That gap is where a "no permit" claim on a product page meets the local rule.
| Place | Size line | Measured as | Power named in the rule? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Seattle, WA | 120 sq ft | roof area (the shed's roof footprint, so eaves count) | not on the page |
| Portland, OR | 200 sq ft | floor area measured from the interior of exterior walls | yes |
| Washington County, OR | 200 sq ft | floor area | not on the page |
| Denver, CO | 200 sq ft | projected roof area | yes |
| Austin, TX | 200 sq ft | floor area | yes |
| Phoenix, AZ | 200 sq ft | aggregate floor area | yes |
| Los Angeles, CA | 120 sq ft | floor area | yes |
| San Jose, CA | 120 sq ft | area (basis not stated) | yes |
| San Francisco, CA | 120 sq ft | floor area in the FAQ answer; the code text quoted in the same FAQ says projected roof area | yes |
| Oakland, CA | 120 sq ft (less than) | area (basis not stated) | yes |
| San Mateo (city), CA | 120 sq ft (less than) | area (basis not stated) | not on the page |
| San Mateo County (unincorporated), CA | 120 sq ft | floor area | not on the page |
| Citrus Heights, CA | 120 sq ft | floor area | yes |
| Sacramento County (unincorporated), CA | 120 sq ft | floor area (“120sf or less”) | yes |
| Raleigh, NC | none (12 ft test) | any dimension (length, width or height) over 12 ft | not on the page |
This checker repeats published rules. It is not a permit decision. The building office for your address has the final word.