San Mateo (city), CA: backyard pod and shed permit line
The city page says no permit below 120 sq ft and a permit above 120 sq ft. Exactly 120 sq ft is not addressed, so that size is shown here as a question for the Building Division.
From City of San Mateo Building Division, read Nov 5, 2026.
The conditions, one by one
| Size line | 120 sq ft (written as less than) |
|---|---|
| Measured as | area (basis not stated) |
| Height | height limits in the rear third of the lot come from the Planning Division |
| Power | Not covered on this page. |
| Use | Not stated. |
Also on the page
- Not allowed in required front yard setbacks or in side yards in the front two thirds of the lot
- Allowed in the rear third of the lot, up to the property line
Pod sizes against this line
9 of 36 pod sizes are inside the 120 sq ft line by floor area. 4 sit exactly on it. 23 are over.
- Autonomous MetroPod: 80 sq ft
- Autonomous WorkPod: 102 sq ft
- Autonomous StudioPod: 105 sq ft
- Studio Home Signature 8 x 10 ft: 80 sq ft
- Studio Home Signature 8 x 12 ft: 96 sq ft
- Studio Home Signature 8 x 14 ft: 112 sq ft
- Studio Home Signature 10 x 10 ft: 100 sq ft
- Studio Home Portland 8 x 12 ft: 96 sq ft
- Studio Home Portland 8 x 14 ft: 112 sq ft
On the line: Studio Home Signature 10 x 12 ft, Studio Home Portland 10 x 12 ft, Kanga Room Systems Modern Kwik Room 10 x 12 ft, Kanga Room Systems Cottage Kwik Room 10 x 12 ft.
Second check
Same 120 sq ft line as San Mateo County's unincorporated-area page.
This page repeats the published rule and does the arithmetic on published sizes. Zoning, HOA rules and setbacks can still block a building the permit rule allows. Ask the office above before you order.